How I Built My Project “CrossMe”

Foued Lamine
3 min readNov 4, 2020

Introduction

After a whole year of learning and working with software engineering technologies varying from low level programming with C to high level development with Python and web development with Flask and SQL-Alchemy, we got to work on a portfolio project at the end of the foundation year. The portfolio project had no restrictions related to what technologies we could use or to what it should be about, and it was a good opportunity to strengthen our technical skills and deepen our web development knowledge.

Our idea is a cross platform for all social media in one place without annoying pubs, so you can build a profile in our web application “CrossMe” using the api of facebook, instagram , twitter…. . So after you can search for other people and follow and you can share posts…

Before getting further into the project, let me introduce myself and my team!

We are team of two , me and Taha Elleuch we worked together front end and backend . We started dividing the projects to many parts according to the tasks we split on Trello

CrossM story

With the decline of organic reach on Facebook, and the sheer volume of content published on Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, and other major social platforms, brands are eager to use paid social advertising to get noticed by their target consumer. And they should be. As the battle for the consumer’s attention becomes even more heated, brands that don’t master paid social will be left in the dust. Social media now is very annoying with advertising and the user being not comfortable.
So we decided me and my friend to build CrossMe application to build a profile scrapping his data from other social media applications( Like facebook, instagram, twitter….) and he will get a cross profile and he can find other users with cross profile also

Accomplishments

Infrastructure

Data flow diagram:

User Schema Exemple:

Current Features:

SignUp/Login Process
Change Profile Picture (On SignUp and on Profile)
Create A Post(text and image) on CrossMe
Scrap posts From Facebook and Instagram
Search for a User
Following system
Notification System
Like System on Posts
Change User Information
Change User Password
Email Confirmation

Future Features:

Mobile Application
Chat between users
Comment in posts
Share in other Social network directly through Crossme
Share Video
Real time scraping From Social Media
Add 24h stories
Add More social Media To CrossMe (Twitter, Tiktok, …)

Challenges we overcome

No experience in Web Development before
User Security
Integration of Reactions
Notifications
User authentication and keeping connected by session
Change password and information for user
Protecting User information

This the API of changing the password with token:

What we’ve learned

During the development of this project, I strengthened my Flask and SQL-Alchemy development skills and I deepened my technical knowledge in the Research and development side of a technical project. I’ve learned more about the frontend design . And the most important thing we learned how to protect user informations

Who am I?

After studying electronics , I switched to the software engineering industry in holberton school to improve my science informatics knowledge as i m an Ethical Hacker. I’m very interested field which makes invest all of my time and energy in order to learn new things about it. I am a fast learner who loves working with others and sharing my knowledge with them

--

--